Curriculum vitae

Berthold Seitz ML, MD, FEBO Professor of Ophthalmology and Chairman Department of Ophthalmology Saarland University Medical Center Kirrbergerstrasse D-66421 Homburg/Saar

Phone.: +49-6841-1622388 FAX: +49-6841-1622400 E-mail: berthold.seitz@uks.eu

Website: www.augenklinik-saarland.de



* 25.06.1962, Bavaria, Germany

Academic education and employment:

11/1981 - 05/1988	Medical Student, University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Bavaria
05/1988	"Approbation" (Medical Exam, University Erlangen-Nürnberg, Bavaria)
07/1988 - 06/1989	Medical Officer in the German Armed Forces, Amberg/Oberpfalz
12/1989	Graduation (with distinction "magna cum laude") as Medical Doctor,
	University Erlangen-Nürnberg
07/1989 - 09/1993	Scientific Employee/Assistant Doctor, Ophthalmology Department,
	University Erlangen-Nürnberg (Prof. Dr. med. G. O. H. Naumann)
09/1993	Specialist Exams in Ophthalmology in Munich, Bavaria
10/1993 - 12/1994	Ophthalmological Consultant in Erlangen, Bavaria
01/1995 - 12/1995	Research-Fellow in Cornea and Refractive Surgery at the Doheny Eye
	Institute, University of Southern California School of Medicine, Los Angeles
	(Prof. Dr. Peter J. McDonnell, Director of Refractive and Corneal Surgery)
01/1996 - 08/2002	Senior Physician in Erlangen, Bavaria
05/1996	European Board of Ophthalmology Exam in Paris (FEBO)
02/1999	"Habilitation" (Postdoctoral Qualification) in Ophthalmology in Erlangen
	(Topic: Curative nonmechanical surgery of the cornea)
03/1999 - 08/2003	Assistant Professor of Ophthalmology and Faculty Member, Erlangen,
	Bavaria
09/2002 - 03/2006	Associate Professor of Ophthalmology in Erlangen, Bavaria
since 03/2006	Full Professor and Chairman, Department of Ophthalmology, Saarland
	University Medical Center
01/2007 - 12/2012	State doctor for the Blind and Visually Impaired in Saarland
09/2009	Establishment of a full Professorship for Experimental Ophthalmology
	(lifetime appointment) at Homburg/Saar
since 08/2011	Member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (ML)

Functions in scientific societies and institutions:

since 1989	German Ophthalmological Society (DOG)
since 1991	The Association for Research in Vision and Ophthalmology (ARVO)
since 1992	German Occupational Union of Ophthalmologists (BVA)
since 1997	American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)
since 1998	German Transplantation Society (DTG)
since 1998	European Association for Vision and Eye Research (EVER)
since 2000	Working Committee of German Cornea Banks
since 2002	Founding Member and Speaker of the Cornea Section in der German
	Ophthalmological Society (DOG)
since 2003	International Society of Dacryology and Dry Eye (ISD&DE)
since 2003	European Eye Bank Association (EEBA)
since 2004	The Cornea Society
since 2008	European Society of Cataract and Refractive Surgeons (ESCRS)
since 03/2016	German Committee for Prevention of Blindness (DKVB)
since 06/2019	EuCornea

Membership in Advisory Boards:

since 2002	Scientific programme committee of the German Ophthalmological Society (DOG)
since 2005	Member of the editorial committee of the journal "Der Ophthalmologe"
since 2005	Member of the international IC3D commission of cornea specialists for the new
	classification of corneal dystrophies with consideration of genetic aspects
since 2006	Co-publisher (Georg Michelson, Gottfried Naumann, Berthold Seitz, Hans-
	Eberhard Völcker, David Huang) of the Atlas of Ophthalmology
since 05/2014	Editor in the specialist subjects "Cornea, Sclera, Conjunctiva" for the journal
	"Klinische Monatsblätter für Augenheilkunde"

Prizes:

2000	Achievement Award of the American Academy of Ophthalmology "for
	contributions made to the Academy, its scientific and educational programs, and to
	ophthalmology"
2010	Distinguished Service Gold Medal, Mumbai, India
2010	DOC-Medal in Silver
2010	AAO Best Poster Certificate
2011	Member of the National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina (ML)
2012	State Award Academic Education (2 nd place) for the project "Augenblock"

2013	Ryan-Belfort-Medal of the American Brazilian Ophthalmological Association
	(ABOA), Rio de Janeiro, Brasil
2015	Amber Cornea in Gold, Wisla, Poland
2015	Research prize awarded by the DOC (Society of German Ophthalmological
	Surgeons)
2015	DOC-Medal in Silver
2015	Chibret Gold Medal
2016	Stephan J. Ryan Doheny Society of Scholars, Los Angeles, USA
2016	Ernst-von-Bergmann Plaque of the German Medical Association
05/2018	Visiting Professor Anhui Provincial Hospital China – First affiliated Hospital of
	the University of Science and Technology in China (USTC)
06/2018	Honorary Member of the Hungarian Ophthalmological Society
06/2018	Honorary Member of the Polish Ophthalmological Society
03/2019	State Award Academic Education 2018 (Winner for the project "Task Force PJ
	Lehre/PJ Faculty der UdS")
04/2019	Honorary Member of the Union of Bulgarian Ophthalmologists
11/2019	Visiting Professor University of Belgrade, Serbia

Main Research Areas

- Corneal transplantation (especially methods to minimize postoperative astigmatism)
- Nonmechanical surgery of the cornea with lasers
- Descemet Membrane Endothelial Keratoplasty (DMEK)
- Classification of corneal dystrophies
- Diagnostics and stage-oriented therapy of keratoconus
- Corneal topography analysis of front and back surface
- Phototherapeutic keratectomy (PTK)
- IOL power calculation after corneal refractive surgery
- Amniotic membrane transplantation
- Application of autologous serum to the eye
- Limbus stem cell transplantation
- Infectious keratitis (HSV, Fungal, Acanthamoeba)
- Photodynamic therapy for infectious keratitis

H-index 49, RG Score 48.31, 727 publications, 123 book chapters, 11.146 citations