Update Date : Saturday, December 29, 2018    Visit : 2476

Department of Endodontics

 
 
 
 

Overview

Endodontics is a field of dentistry concerned with the biology and pathology of the dental pulp and periapical tissues, and with the prevention, diagnosis, and treatment of diseases and injuries in these tissues. For a successful treatment the endodontist should know basic sciences such biology of the normal pulp, dental root canal anatomy and morphology. The endodontist should be able to diagnose and treat the pulpal and periapical tissue diseases.

Department Activities

The department of Endodontics offers a basic and advanced education for under and post graduate students. Patients are also treated by students under the supervision of faculty scientific members

Treatments offer in the department of Endodontics:

·   Root canal therapy of the complicated cases

·   Retreatment

·   Root canal therapy for patients with systemic diseases

·   Root canal therapy for patients with infectious disease (AIDS, Hepatitis)

·   Endodontic Surgeries

·   Treatment of the traumatized teeth

·   Treatment of the teeth with Endo-Perio       problems

·   Internal bleaching

·   Forced eruption

·   Apexogenesis and Apexification

·   Vital pulp therapy

 
Faculty Members
 
Dr. Kazem Ashofteh Yazdi, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Head 

E-mail:  ashofteh@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Behnam Bolhari, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Vice Head of Department

Representative of Infection Control

Representative of the Department in the Assessment Committee

E-mail:  bolhari@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Sedigheh Khedmat, D.D.S., M.Sc.

E-mail:  khedmats@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Hassan Razmi, D.D.S., M.Sc.

E-mail:  hrazmi@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Mohammad Reza Sharifian, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Post-Graduate Director

E-mail:  drsharifian@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Mohammad Hossein Nekoofar, D.D.S., M.Sc., Ph.D.

E-mail:  nekoofar@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Mohammad Saeid Sheikhrezaei, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Vice-Head of Research

Representative of Equipment of the Department

E-mail:  sheikhrm@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Abdollah Ghorbanzadeh, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Representative of the Dean in the Educational Board

E-mail:  aghorbanzadeh@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Noushin Shokouhinejad, D.D.S., M.Sc.

E-mail:  nshokouhinejad@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Sholeh Ghabraei, D.D.S., M.Sc.

E-mail:  sh-ghabraei@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Mehrfam Khoshkhounejad, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Representative of the Department in the Assessment Committee

E-mail:  m-khoshkhounejad@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Pegah Sarraf, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Representative of the Department in the Assessment Committee

Representative of Virtual Education

Representative of HIS

E-mail:  sarraf@tums.ac.ir

 

Dr. Naghmeh Meraji, D.D.S., M.Sc.

Director of the Leading House of Iran Switzerland Academic Partnerships

Vice-Head of International Affairs

Representative of Professional HIS

Member of the ADEE Accreditation Workgroup of the School

E-mail:  n-meraji@tums.ac.ir

 

 
Visiting Professors
 

Dr. Hakki Sunay

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: Altinbus University, Turkey

 

Dr. Mohammad Sadegh Namazikhah

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: California Dental Association, USA

 

Prof. Josette Camilleri

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: University of Malta Medical School, Malta

 

Prof. Imad About

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: Aix-Marseille University, France

 

Prof. Kishor Gulabivala

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: Eastman Dental Institute, University College London, UK

 

Prof. Kerstin Galler

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: University Hospital Regensburg, Germany

 

Prof. Sanjay Miglani

Field: Endodontics

Affiliation: Jamia Millia Islamia University, India

 
 
Contact Person for International Affairs

Dr. Naghmeh Meraji

Vice-Head of International Affairs

E-mail:  n-meraji@tums.ac.ir

Tel:  (+98 21) 883 51 173

 
 
All interested applicants are welcome to apply to TUMS by completing and submitting TUMS online application form in which they need to specify their school, level, and major of interest.
 
Close